Sunshine Lemon Cookies

//

sunshinelemoncookies

Spring is less then a month away now, and I cannot wait! Here in New York the snow is still covering my lawn, and although I love the snow, I am over it! I made these Sunshine Lemon Cookies to remind myself that soon Spring will be here! I love the taste of lemon. Lemons are fresh and light, and add a burst of flavor to many things. I found a recipe that I thought was perfect, but tweaked it to my liking. The original recipe called for lemon oil which I swapped for olive oil and more lemon juice which I cut back on. I also added some yellow food coloring to tint my sugar for rolling my cookies in. With that said, here is the recipe I found and tweaked. Hopefully you can make it, and it will remind you that Spring soon will be here…

Ingredients

2 Cups Flour
1 Cup Sugar
1/4 Teaspoon Salt
1/2 Teaspoon Baking Soda
3/4 Cup Olive oil
4 Teaspoons Grated Lemon Zest
Juice of 1 Medium Lemon
1 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract
Sugar, for rolling
Yellow Food Coloring
sunshinecookiesprebake

For Tinted Sugar

In a small bowl add 1/2 cup white sugar, add 1-2 drops of yellow food coloring and mix well with a fork until your sugar has turned yellow.

Directions

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. In a bowl, whisk flour, sugar, salt and baking soda together.
In another small bowl, stir together the olive oil, lemon zest, lemon juice and vanilla.
Add wet ingredients to the dry ingredients, then mix lightly until it resembles wet sand . Using your hands, roll into one inch balls. Roll cookie balls in a little tinted sugar and roll in your hands to distribute it. Put the cookies about 2 inches apart on cookie sheets and bake for about 12-15 minutes. Makes about 36 to 40 cookies.

Tips:

You may need to add a little more flour, so keep it aside when your mixing ingredients. You may also use more or less lemon juice depending on the size of your lemons. I used medium sized lemons.

sunshinecookiesafter

sunshinelemoncookies

4 thoughts on “Sunshine Lemon Cookies

Leave a Reply

