Apricot Glazed Chicken Meatballs

apricot glazed chicken meatballs

In my home we are a fan of meatballs! I make them a lot. Traditionally when I grew up my mom always made sauce on Sundays, and a big pasta dinner with meatballs. My mom’s delicious meatballs were and still are made with her very own red tomato sauce. I, unlike my sweet, adorable mother, like my meatballs sweet and savory! I don’t even need sauce with them. She would say I was crazy if she read this! No tomato sauce?? Anyway, today I made oven baked chicken meatballs that I topped with a sweet apricot glaze. These meatballs go well when paired with rice, or noodles, or make them the star as an appetizer meatball. When I make my meatballs I usually use either turkey or chicken, it’s my preference, you may use what you like for yours. You may replace the chicken in this recipe for another meat if you’d like, or a combination. I do think if you try the chicken alone you will be happy! Here’s my recipe ;o)

Ingredients

For the Meatballs

1 pound ground chicken
1 egg, beaten
1/4 cup breadcrumbs, plain
2 cloves of garlic,minced
2 tablespoons Trader Joe’s 21 seasoning salute blend

For the Glaze

1/2 cup orange juice
1/4 cup apricot preserves
2 tablespoons brown sugar

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a large mixing bowl add your ground chicken, beaten egg, 1/4 breadcrumbs, 21 seasoning blend, and minced garlic.
Mix well with your hands, and shape into 12 meatballs. Place on a greased cookie sheet and bake for 30-40 minutes.
Check on your meatballs half way, and turn them over. (NOTE: If you make your meatballs smaller, such as appetizers cooking time will be less)

Meanwhile, in a small pot add your orange juice, apricot preserves, and brown sugar. Stir well, and cook on medium low for 8 minutes. To put it altogether, place your cooked meatballs on a serving plate, and pour apricot glaze over your meatballs. You can coat meatballs and toss gently in a bowl before placing your meatballs on your serving plate. I hope you enjoy!

Just to let you know…Trader Joe’s 21 Seasoning Salute is a blend of these spices…

onion
black pepper
celery seed
cayenne pepper
parsley
basil
marjoram
bay leaf
oregano
thyme
savory
rosemary
cumin
mustard
coriander
garlic
carrot
orange peel
tomato granules
lemon juice powder
oil of lemon

You May Also Like…

Mini Taco Meatballsswet and tangy turkey meatballs

3 thoughts on “Apricot Glazed Chicken Meatballs

Leave a Reply

