Spring Salad With Avocado Cream Dressing

springsalad2
Spring is almost here! Yay! Just seven more days to go, and it’s official. It’s been a very long Winter here in New York, we are ready for longer days, birds chirping and lots of warmth! Today was a great day, the temperature was warm enough that I took the baby out to play. He was so happy to be outside…and so was I. It was a perfect day to make a healthy, light Spring salad for lunch too. A Spring salad with fruits and avocado as a dressing to be exact. I love the combination of fruit in my salads. I also love creamy dressings, but I didn’t want my dressing to be full of unhealthy ingredients. I opted to make an avocado cream dressing because I’ve seen people make them before and was curious as to how it would turn out in a dressing. Well, it’s really good! I knew an avocado would be a great addition to my salad giving it the creamy richness in a dressing that I like. I hope you can try this easy, healthy salad recipe. This can serve 2 people.

avocado cream dressing

Ingredients

3 cups mesclun salad
1/4 low fat feta cheese
1/4 cup blueberries
1/4 cup blackberries
1/4 cup green grapes, sliced in half
1/4 cup strawberries, sliced in half

For the Avocado Cream Dressing

1/2 avocado mashed
1-2 tablespoons low fat sour cream
Juice of a small lime
2-4 tablespoons olive oil
dash of salt and pepper
1 small garlic clove minced

Directions

For Your Salad

Wash your mesclun mix well in a colander or salad spinner. Set aside. Rinse your fruits and slice your strawberries, and grapes in half. Add all fruits to a bowl. Place your mesclun on a serving plate, and top with fruits.

Avocado Cream Dressing

In your mini food processor, blender, or by hand, mix your avocado, sour cream, olive oil, minced garlic, lime juice, salt and pepper until you achieve a creamy consistency. Pour over your mesclun and fruit. Enjoy this salad with some crackers, it’s really really good!

You May Also Like…

berry spinach saladsnow  pea tuna saladcreamy quinoa salad

2 thoughts on “Spring Salad With Avocado Cream Dressing

Leave a Reply

